Advanced search

Browse your search results by sector:

Browse by audience:


Literacy news

Graham Stuart MP named Chair of Children, Schools and Families Select Committee

11 Jun 2010

Graham Stuart, the Conservative MP for Beverley and Holderness, has been appointed Chair of the Children, Schools and Families Select Committee in the House of Commons. Mr Stuart was a member of the same committee, previously chaired by Labour MP Barry Sheerma, for three years before the recent election.

Mr Stuart released a statement on his website saying that he would use his appointment to campaign for more cash to be allocated to local school pupils and more money to refurbish or rebuild local schools.

The primary function of Departmental Select Committees is to scrutinise and investigate the activities of a particular government department. To fulfil these aims, it is permitted to hold hearings and collect evidence. In some instances individual bills may be referred to Departmental Select Committees, although this procedure is relatively rare.

The committee is expected to be renamed the Education Select Committee once the process of electing other members to the committee is complete.

Read the full story on Children and Young People Now

Read Conservative MP Graham Stuart’s statement on his website

Tags: England, Policy

Return to literacy news


The National Literacy Trust is a registered charity no. 1116260 and a company limited by guarantee no. 5836486 registered in England and Wales and a registered charity in Scotland no. SC042944.
Registered address: 68 South Lambeth Road, London SW8 1RL.