Advanced search

Browse your search results by sector:

Browse by audience:


Literacy news

Our Descriptosaurus Time Machine competition inspires creative writing from 1,500 pupils

5 Jun 2017

We're delighted to announce the winners of our Descriptosaurus Time Machine competition, created in partnership with Routledge.

Alex DimitriouThe Descriptosaurus Time Machine competition challenged students to produce a piece of descriptive writing set in a specific time period, using the series as inspiration.

We received 1,500 entries to the competition from schools across the country. Stories were set in time periods which ranged from World World One, a settlement on Pluto in the future and the Iron Age.

The overall winner of the competition was Year 6 student, Alex, for his entry Saint Guillotine, set at the time of the French Revolution.  You can read his entry here. Alex said:

"The Descriptosaurus challenge took me into a world of literature. If I wasn’t at school when I heard the news, I would have fainted on the spot!"

His teacher, Penelope Lee, said:

"I was absolutely ecstatic to hear the amazing news and as a school, we are incredibly proud of Alex. I have always loved using Descriptosaurus as a writing resource as it really inspires children, modelling noteworthy sentences. It definitely raises the level of their description."


Alex's entry won him an eReader and £50 worth of book tokens, and as part of the prize his school also won £250 worth of Routledge books for the classroom, and membership to the National Literacy Trust Network. Alison Wilcox, author of Descriptosaurus Time Machine, will also be visiting the school to run writing workshops with Alex and his classmates, and training for the teaching staff.

Three winners and three runners-up from each of the age categories were also chosen by the judges. The winners received £50 worth of book tokens and  £100 worth of Routledge books for their school, while the runners-up received £20 worth of book tokens and  £50 worth of Routledge books for their school. Click on their names below to read their entries:

  • Years 3 and 4 winner: Zoe, The Maynard School
  • Years 3 and 4 runner-up: Anselm, Ave Maria Homeschool
  • Years 5 and 6 winner: Sasha, The Maynard School
  • Years 5 and 6 runner-up: Emily, St. Mark's Primary School
  • Years 7, 8 and 9 winner: Molly, Herne Bay High School
  • Years 7, 8 and 9 runner-up: Mia, Bridgewater School

Sign up to our newsletter to be kept up to date with our latest competitions. 

Return to literacy news


The National Literacy Trust is a registered charity no. 1116260 and a company limited by guarantee no. 5836486 registered in England and Wales and a registered charity in Scotland no. SC042944.
Registered address: 68 South Lambeth Road, London SW8 1RL.