Advanced search

Browse your search results by sector:

Browse by audience:


The Ruth Rendell Award

image of Ruth Rendell by Jerry Bauer

image of ALCS logo









About the award

The Ruth Rendell Award in association with the National Literacy Trust will be presented to the author or writer who has done the most to raise literacy levels in the UK either through their writing and books or through their advocacy and championing of the cause of literacy. 

Launched on 17 February 2016, on what would have been her birthday, the award will be made in memory of Ruth Rendell who supported the National Literacy Trust when the charity was established 21 years ago.

The award is sponsored by the Authors’ Licensing and Collecting Society (ALCS).

Our panel of expert judges will consider the creativity and resourcefulness of each nominee and consider the scale of the author or writer’s reach and contribution.

The winner will be presented with their award by Ruth’s son, Simon Rendell, at a ceremony in December. 



Nominations for authors or writers are being sought from schools, charities, libraries, booksellers and individuals. 

To nominate someone please complete the nomination form and email it to 

The closing date for nominations is 31 May 2016.


The judges

Jonathan Douglas

Jonathan DouglasJonathan Douglas has been Director of the National Literacy Trust since 2007.

He has developed the strategy for the 2008 National Year of Reading generating 2.5million new public library members, formed the All Party Parliamentary Literacy Group, expanded the National Literacy Trust schools’ programme to include 7,000 schools and engaged a wide range of businesses (including the Premier League, McDonald’s and KPMG) in the campaign for UK literacy.

He is currently developing a UK Brazil partnership reading programme as part of the Olympic Legacy.

Jonathan Fryer

image of Jonathan FryerJonathan Fryer is a London-based freelance writer, lecturer and broadcaster who has been an elected member of the ALCS Board since 2014.

The author of a dozen non-fiction books including biographies of Oscar Wilde and Dylan Thomas, as well as histories of China and Kuwait, he is a long-standing member of the Royal Society of Literature, Society of Authors and English PEN, serving on the latter's Writers in Prison Committee until its dissolution. 



Ginny Lunn 

image of Ginny LunnGinny Lunn has been the CEO of the national children’s literacy charity Beanstalk since June 2015.

Ginny’s career started as a primary school teacher in Leeds, where she witnessed first-hand the importance of strong literacy skills in enabling young children to reach their true potential.

Before joining Beanstalk, Ginny was UK Programmes Director at Save the Children where she had responsibility for developing its partnership with Beanstalk. 

Sue Wilkinson

image of Sue WilkinsonSue Wilkinson is Chief Executive of The Reading Agency, a charity which aims to inspire children to read more. The Reading Agency is a member of the National Literacy Forum a charity coalition of 19 partners established and convened by the National Literacy Trust. 

Sue trained as a teacher and as a museum educator and had previous roles as Director of Policy and Research at the Museums, Libraries and Archives Council and Director of Government and Academic Liaison at Elsevier.


The National Literacy Trust is a registered charity no. 1116260 and a company limited by guarantee no. 5836486 registered in England and Wales and a registered charity in Scotland no. SC042944.
Registered address: 68 South Lambeth Road, London SW8 1RL.